We have seen an influx of special requests here at Candy Pros. Whether it is questions regarding candy ingredients or asking for a list of candies that are gluten free. Whether it be celiac disease or religious guidelines, we spent much of the day here at Candy Pros sorting our candies in to diet categories for you.

 Halal Candy

Halal is an Islamic law, that is broken when animals are improperly slaughtered; alcoholic drinks are consumed improperly and any food contaminated with any of these products is eaten. Certified Halal candies will have a pork free gelatin and not contain any traces of beef or alcohol. Jelly Belly is a Halal candy company because they use no meat products and instead use soy gelatin in their manufacturing process.

Kosher Candy

Kosher foods are those that conform to the regulations of the Jewish Halakhic law framework, kosher meaning fit or allowed to be eaten. Kosher candies go through a rigorous test to make sure that no pork is included in the manufacturing process. The accreditation Kosher also signifies that the food was prepared in a Kosher way.

Gluten Free Candy

Gluten free candy has become a “craze” as of late, according to The Globe and Mail, “In less than five years, sales of gluten-free products have nearly tripled, rising in tandem with the increasing number of new gluten-free goods. Beyond crackers, breads and pastas, it’s now possible to buy everything from gourmet gluten-free cookies at independent bakeries to gluten-free pizzas.” However, despite the craze the need for gluten free food is born out of celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that has life threatening consequences on individuals that eat wheat and gluten products.  Luckily, there are a wide variety of gluten free candies for people to enjoy, from Airheads to Starburst!

Advertisements